31 Days: Be Your Own Maid – Day ONE

I am linking up with The Nester’s 31 Days Challenge to blog on one topic for 31 days as a practice for yourself, your life, and hopefully your readers. Not sure I have any readers anymore because two kids under two has kept me quite busy! But I had hoped to do the 31 Day Challenge last year and even came up with a theme and guess what, the theme still works for me and my life.

We need a maid. We’ve talked about it on and off for a few years now. Two adults, two dogs, and two little boys make a few messes around here and neither of us adults excel at housecleaning. We can’t justify the cost of a maid though, not with our current financial goals. And the house isn’t clean enough to even have a maid come over weekly because there is still too much clutter.  So my 31 Days series will be How To Be Your Own Maid.

For a Stay at Home Mom (SAHM) with two little boys, two dogs, a home, outside engagements, and a big fitness program going on I am rather busy. And yet, I have found myself with some extra free time in my days but little motivation to tackle the mess that is my home, or better yet, my domain.  So I consulted some friends for ways to motivate myself and they suggested starting with just 20 minutes a day, more if I feel like it, and a reward after I am done. Since I can’t reward myself with chocolate anymore, a good tv show will have to do for now!

With both boys down for a nap, though only one  the baby asleep already it was time to set my alarm for 20 minutes.

And guess what?!? I got a lot done in those 20 minutes, working even an extra six minutes until the other boy was asleep and the little one was awake and crying. In 20 minutes I:

  • scrubbed all three toilets
  • scrubbed two bathroom sinks
  • emptied the dryer
  • moved the laundry from the wash to the dryer
  • moved dried/folded laundry upstairs
  • emptied the dishwasher
  • refilled the dishwasher
  • washed the knives and wooden utensils
  • and scrubbed and shone my kitchen sink ala FlyLady style

I’m pretty proud and might have considered going further if baby didn’t wake.  It does make me excited to see how much I can get done in 20 minutes a day (minimum) for 31 days. I will try and make a comprehensive list at the end of it. But now it’s time to watch Ugly Betty and cuddle baby a while!

dayone

I do think I will plan ahead for the next few days a certain area to work on to stay focused. As my sweet husband always says, “Jennifer likes to read about and plan for cleaning more than she actually likes to clean.” So I have many lists of things that have needed doing around here for a long long time. Hopefully this month will be the time to start doing them and hopefully make a practice of it.

One ground rule for this plan:

  1. 20 minutes minimum everyday, during the day (so this won’t count the normal before-bed tidying my husband and I do each night)

Find the whole 31 Day Be Your Own Maid series here.

4 comments on “31 Days: Be Your Own Maid – Day ONE

  1. Samantha says:

    I love this! My house is in desperate need of a deep cleaning, but I am overwhelmed at the thought. I’m going to join you and try to do 20 minutes a day! Thanks for the idea! Oh, and you got a TON done in 20 minutes!!!

Leave a Reply

